American Friends of Ulster University

The Richard K. Degenhardt Belleek Collectors’ Scholarships

Supported by fellow collectors and friends of the late Richard K. Degenhardt, the Scholarships are awarded each year to undergraduate and postgraduate students of Ceramics or Celtic Studies.

The Richard K. Degenhardt Belleek Collectors’ Scholarships were established in 2001 in memory of the late founder of the Belleek Collectors’ International Society, Richard Kennedy Degenhardt. T

he scholarships are a tribute to his definitive knowledge of Belleek Parian China, which remains renowned among collectors worldwide today.

The Scholarships were established by the Founder and Chair, Dr Linda Beard, and are funded through the ongoing personal commitment and efforts of Dr Beard as well as the generosity of many individuals and groups including Belleek collectors world-wide, international Belleek Chapters, special friends and family of Richard K. Degenhardt, the Belleek Pottery and the Belleek Collectors’ International Society.

These international scholarships, each of one year’s duration, are awarded annually to a small number of outstanding students of  Ulster University engaged in study in the fields of Ceramics and Celtic Studies at either undergraduate or graduate level.

The Scholarships give recipients financial assistance in order to undertake further specialised research in their areas of expertise, for example by attending courses abroad, visiting prestigious exhibitions or to fund travel and living costs for periods of research. Some of the resulting research has been published or used as a foundation for Scholars to progress their studies to PhD level.

Full List of Scholarship Winners

A total of 57 Ulster University students have benefited from Richard K. Degenhardt Belleek Collector's Scholarships since they were established in 2001.

Year Ceramics Scholars Celtic Studies Scholars
2002 Tina Byrne Mary McCaul
2003 Jill Warrington Donal Mac Ruairí
2004 Fiona Fleming Julie Gallagher
2005 Rachel Buchanan Marion Deane
2006 Naomi Fitzpatrick
Derek Wilson
Sophia Geraghty
2007 Kerrie Ahern
Rebecca Simpson
Seán Ó Maolagáin
2008 Ashling O’Hea
Conor McLean
Colm Duffin
2009 Helen Moore Sarah McMonagle
2010 Claire Muckian Aodh Mac Gairbheá
2011 Andrew Cooke Conal McShane 
Patrick Tierney
2012 Julie Scott 
Rhiannon Ewing-James
Tony Mac Ruairí
2013 Kerrie Hanna
Christopher Banks
Póilín Uí Ghallachóir
2014Wendy Ward Caitlin Ni Bhroin 
Patricia Carr
2015Rosemary Purvis
Lisa Allan
Michael Casey
2016David McComiskey
Eliza Bliss
Duane Long
2017Grace Press
Joshua Lyness
Seanan Mac Aoidh
2018Tamara Rose Doherty
Annita McKee
Lauren O'Neill
2019David Samuel
Zara McLaughlin
Ksenia Kudenko
2020Tracey Johnston
Rebecca Cunningham
Jonathan McGibbon
2021Sorcha Groocock
Saorla Ni Chearullain
Faolán McGivern
2022Lisa Robson
Hannah Magill Shaw
Brid Costello
2023Brenda Morgan
Patricia Browne
Treasa Hawksford
© American Friends of Ulster University 2024